Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion.

Synopsis:

GREETINGS. My name is Don Tillman. I am forty-one years old. I have been married to Rosie Jarman, world’s most perfect woman, for ten months and ten days.
Marriage added significant complexity to my life. When we relocated to New York City, Rosie brought three maximum-size suitcases. We abandoned the Standardised Meal System and agreed that sex should not be scheduled in advance.

Then Rosie told me we had ‘something to celebrate’, and I was faced with a challenge even greater than finding a partner.

I have attempted to follow traditional protocols and have sourced advice from all six of my friends, plus a therapist and the internet.

The result has been a web of deceit. I am now in danger of prosecution, deportation and professional disgrace.

And of losing Rosie forever.

Thoughts:

The Rosie Effect is the highly anticipated sequel to the hilarious book The Rosie Project. (I can’t believe it’s been a year already).

The book is set in New York City where Don and Rosie -married- are living now. Everything was going well until Rosie dropped a pregnancy bombshell. In Don’s words, I had been taken to the edge of an unstable equilibrium, and then struck with the maximum conceivable force. And that’s when Don’s relationship with Rosie starts to encounter difficulties.

 ‘Her mother died when she was ten. Even if her mother- her mother’s love- wasn’t perfect, Rosie had no chance to find out. So she went off looking for a perfect father, who didn’t exist, of course, and then she found a perfect husband.’

‘I’m not perfect.’

‘In your own way, you are. You believe in love more than any of us. There’s no grey with you.’

Although not as funny as The Rosie Project, I absolutely loved reading Don’s views on marriage and how he prepared to become a father. The book made me fall in love with Don all over again. These books will always be special to me.

‘Jeeesus,’ she said. ‘You don’t have any feelings at all.’

I was suddenly angry. I wanted to shake not just Lydia but the whole world of people who do not understand the difference between control of emotion and lack of it, and who make a totally illogical connection between inability to read other’s emotions and inability to experience their own.’

Around the web:

1- If you haven’t read The Rosie Project yet here’s 10 reasons why you should.

2-The Rosie Effect is out today and it has been getting good reviews already. Get a copy here.

3- Exciting news about The Rosie Project Movie.

Thanks to Mr.Simsion and Penguin books Uk for my advanced copy.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion.

Leave a Reply

