What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.

runningI tried reading Murakami once before and I couldn’t get pass the first few chapters. I just didn’t like his writing style. Now that I read What I Talk About When I Talk About Running I can’t help but think that 1) I started with the wrong book and 2) I like Murakami’s non-fiction and short stories more.

 

What I Talk About When I Talk  About Running is Murakami’s running diary between summer 2005 and fall 2006. As a non runner I absolutely loved it. I don’t know if I’ll start running or not but I know that it taught me a few things about running and about life in general.

 

Running 101 with Haruki Murakami:

 

1-Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional: In most cases learning something essential in life requires physical pain. It’s up to you whether or not you can stand that pain.

 

2-Will power is important for a runner, but if you really don’t care for running you won’t keep it up for long.You gotta love what you’re doing.

 

3-A person doesn’t become a runner because someone recommends it. People basically become runners because they’re meant to be.

 

4-It’s never too late to start running. Murakami started running in 1982 when he was 33. He has been running for more than a quarter century!

 

5-If you think running is worth doing, it’s worth giving it your best or perhaps beyond your best.

 

Leave a Reply

